Showing You All The Finger...

Started by Supertom, March 30, 2007, 03:42:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Supertom

...no, it's not what you think (except for you.  And you.  And you).  Anyway it's my first attempt at a real scratchbuild/kitbash/conversion.  I pose to you the question:

What if, China, in looking for a VTOL design, had taken the Yak-38 Forger, and through indeginous improvements, have made it into a viable VTOL platform for close air support?

I give you, the Nanchang Q-9 Finger.

Mind you, this is 2-3 weeks of work.

First off, sawed in half, with the plastic card plug...

Then sanded and reshaped, before putty filled in the gaps (mind you I found that I was still filling and sanding a week later)  Cockpit had to be scratchbuilt as there wasn't really one.  Mostly plastic card.  Detail will be decals scanned from the Trumpeter J-8 kit and reprinted on decal sheet.

The nose was chopped off, and a template in place to give it a ducknose profile (thanks for the suggestion Geoff)

Cockpit and noseweight.  A lot of weight, and you'll see why next...

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/203/4401531...506eb640d_o.jpg

Wings.  Using Baz's patented layers of sheet styrene, then laminated with another thin layer (thanks again for that suggestion Geoff), then sanded and puttied to shape.  Added wing bulges on top for more variety (and fuel).  Initially during planning and test fitting I thought the wings were just the right amount of enlargement.  Now, after I bolt them on, I discover they may be a tad bit too big.  Proportionally the wings are supposed to be 30% bigger but I think we're more at 50% here.  Ah well more fuel and loiter time.  Looks a little A-4ish right now...

Milliput, bloody Milliput...

Well kids, that's it for now.  Going to work on it some more.

"We can resolve this over tea and fisticuffs!!!"

cthulhu77

Boy, would that be a great ASW platform too !  I like the big wings, they really set it off well.

Supertom