Academy 1/48 Hunter FGA-9

Started by AeroplaneDriver, January 01, 2008, 07:45:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AeroplaneDriver

Since I'm in one of my frantic building phases and I have another 5 days off, I decided to dive into the Academy Hunter I've had for a few years.

The intake assembly is so complicated I half expected a wormhole to open up once it was together, but alas no.  

It will be an inflight build, originally planned as a USAF or RAF Vietnam machine, but I decided to go along a different path instead, and build it as something I've never done before.

It will be an inflight build to get around the undersize wheels.  I'm probably oging to scratchbuild the back of a MB Mk2 seat to overcome the 1/72 scale seat included with the kit.

I'll ppst some pics once I have something interesting enough to justify it.  Until then I'll just say it will be a very different scheme for a Hunter...

So I got that going for me...which is nice....

AeroplaneDriver

Just a quick progres update:  The fuselage is together with the frustrating intake assembly.  I closed up the main landing gear doors before assembling hte wing halves so I could glue the doors in from inside.  With a little gap-filling CA they fit pretty well, sith just some sanding to clean up the outside.  

Next step is fitting the wings to the fuslega, which is taking some trimming and lots of dry-fitting thanks to the intake assembly.

I've read builds and reviews that have said this can be a frustrating kit, but I always looked athte box of finely detailed parts and thought 'how bad can it be'?  Now I can see where the frustration comes form.

By itself, it's probably not that bad of a kit apart from the handful of well-known problem areas, but building it right on the heels of a 1/72 Revell Hunter seems to highlight what Academy did wrong.