Operation Magpie

Started by Martin H, January 21, 2008, 01:17:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Martin H

Who remembers the thread about helping UK ex service men/women posted up by lenny100 a few months ago?

Well were now up and running with a charity kit collection going under the name Operation Magpie

Ive been laying the ground work for this since SMW2007 when Lenny asked the SIG if we could do something to help him give something back to a charity he has recived a lot of help from.

The Charity is called Combat stress. http://www.combatstress.org.uk/ I wont say to much about them as their web site tells you more than I can.
they have three treatment units around the UK, and the one were looking to help is a place called Hollybush house in southern Scotland. Theres a new activity/arts and crafts centre were Lenny has built a number of his creations, and the place has limited modelling stuff to allow others to see what our hobby has to offer. This is where we come in...........

To stop me waffleing on ill post the text of the flyer we have been handing out.

Operation Magpie.

In the run up to SMW07 I was asked by one of our number if we could help out a charity he's been receiving help from.

It's an Ex-services charity called Combat Stress. Its aim is to provide treatment to those service personnel who have suffered psychological illness as a result of their service.
They have three treatment centres around the UK and our member has been receiving treatment at Hollybush house in Scotland.
There is a newly built activity centre at Hollybush that uses arts and crafts as a form of treatment. Model making is just one activity on offer. But they have used up the kit donations that they have managed to gather locally. And our member has given every thing he can from his own kits, and now it's our turn to help out those who have given almost every thing they have for their country.

We (the what if? SIG) are mounting Operation Magpie