OV-10 Bronco, 'Whif-lite'

Started by Silverfox, August 03, 2009, 11:05:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Silverfox

Well, this is my first project to be posted on here. I've been watching for a while, and after getting inspired by the rest of you with your fantastic creations, I got inspired to finally get of my butt and do something myself.

As my resources are limited, and the last thing I built was a terrible V-22 when I was about 14, that I thankfully no longer have, I decided to start slow and easy with a 1/72 Academy Bronco kit I've had sitting in the cupboard for the last few years. I purchased it at an airshow... somewhere, with the full intentions of building it. Due to moves and things though, it sat and gathered dust for a while.

So, I sat down and ran through a few ideas. I like the bronco a lot as it is, but I wanted to give it something 'different'. I've already decided on a splinter cammo pattern, and I also had a Blackhawk kit sitting and awaiting being built - so, I nicked the Hellfires from it, and I'm going to mount them on the Bronco.
I also liked a few ideas I saw popping up in other Bronco whifs on the site - namely, wingtip 'winders and a cannon in one of the sponsons.
Unfortunately, these ideas only came to me a bit after I'd started, but here's some pictures so far:

Here's my work area. Body's has some PSR applied, and I've made and painted the cockpit interior. Hellfires are ready to have their noses tipped with silver.

A closer, but blurry as heck pic of the body. I hadn't decided to mod on the cannon yet, but stay tuned.

Be gentle with me, it's my first time!  :rolleyes:

:tornado:

John Howling Mouse

Keep it coming, is all I can ask for.  Enjoy the build, knowing that you are producing something truly unique and a subject with a twist that the world would never otherwise see.

Styrene in my blood and an impressive void in my cranium.

Sauragnmon