Hawker Seahawk II

Started by loupgarou, January 21, 2013, 03:24:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

loupgarou

I am a slow builder (and slower painter) but this one, inspired by a build in 1/48 found exploring the forum old pages, turned me on.
As I had the chance of buying a big lot of mostly ex-Frog russian issues, ex-Heller SMER, and KP kits on evilbay.de, I have a cheap ( about 2 euro each) stash.
I found that the old Frog Seahawk and the venerable Airfix MiG-15 (the really old one) join seamlessly. Started saturday, took the photos just before starting PSR...R...R   :rolleyes:
It's a pity that this aircraft arrived in squadron service too late to fight in Korea with the RAN, so no Asia GB, it will have to take part in the Suez fighting.

p.s. inside wing fence removed, what appears in photo is the trace.
Owing to the current financial difficulties, the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice.

kerick

I think I have that Seahawk kit half built. Stymied by the lack of anything you could call a cockpit.
May I suggest changing the vertical tail? Something swept would match the wings and horizontal stabilizers.
Any thoughts on a color scheme yet?
" Somewhere, between half true, and completely crazy, is a rainbow of nice colours "
Tophe the Wise

loupgarou

Hmmm, even the real swept wing Seahawk kept the straight fin and rudder.
What I should do is reduce the sweep of the horizontal tail. I really have to do it :rolleyes:
Cockpit ? What cockpit?  ;D
I'll put a seat inside if I feel really nice  ;)
Colour scheme: the Suez one.
Owing to the current financial difficulties, the light at the end of the tunnel will be turned off until further notice.

Daryl J.

Father Ennis