Paint it Black!

Started by McColm, April 29, 2014, 03:51:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

McColm

Hi Guys,
I'm fairly new to painting my models, using the Matchbox different coloured plastic kits and trying not to get the glue on my fingers or on glazed parts.
I've found that mat black hides all my mistakes and gives the build a sneeky feel  such as recon or black ops.
Whilst there is the opposite if you use gloss black. Sort of sleek and sexy.
Why should that occur?

kerick

Flat or mat colors will hide many sins but gloss, especially black, makes the slightest scratch seem twice the size. To have a gloss finish the surface has to be glass smooth to reflect the light. A defect will interrupt this mirror like surface making it very visible. Flat or mat finishes are rough in texture to scatter the light. Under a microscope they look like a gravel road. That's why decals will silver on a flat finish and not on a gloss finish. The flat finish allows air to get under the decal. To beat this you have to spray a gloss finish over the flat to provide a smooth surface for the decals and then a flat or mat finish once the decals have been applied. The rough surface of the flat finish will allow small defects to blend in. Just ask any car body repair person about painting a gloss black finish on a car and watch him start to twitch.
As you mention finishing models in flat black I would paint them with gloss black first, apply the decals, and then apply a flat clear coat.
" Somewhere, between half true, and completely crazy, is a rainbow of nice colours "
Tophe the Wise

Dizzyfugu

It's also human perception and our instincts. Glossy black is attractive to us - stemming back from a time when we used to live in caves. It suggests "ripe", so you can eat it (just as red). Very fundamental reflex that's still active.