Resin kits.... what do I need to know?

Started by strobez, August 21, 2017, 05:38:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

strobez

So, despite paying more than I'd hoped for, I was finally able to get my hands on one of my "Holy Grail" kits... the Macchi M.52r from Vintage Models.

I love sea planes and flying boats, and the Macchi racers are a particular favourite. Despite just being cool, the Macchi M.39/52 (a bit of a hybrid) appears in Hayao Miyazaki's film Porco Rosso as Porco's friend Ferrari's plane during the escape from Milan, so it also fits in with my overall Studio Ghibli themed build project. Which makes it doubly attractive.

Anyway, I almost broke down and grabbed the new MC.72 instead (and still might... just 'cause), but I held out and my luck paid off (not to mention my wallet).

The thing is, the kit is resin and I've never built one before. I'm terrified over screwing up an expensive and basically irreplaceable kit.  I'll probably try to get my hands on a "practice" kit first... (any suggestions?) but I'm wondering what a first time resin model builder needs to know.

I've got as far as "you can't use cement". ;)
Thanks!

Greg

McColm

Always wash the parts before you superglue them together. Some parts fit well whilst others have gaps or are wrapped. Wrapped parts can be reshaped if put into hot water.
Take your time, you can rescribe panel lines when the build is nearing completion.,

rickshaw

There is no super-secret IMHO to building resin kits.  Just take your time and be careful.  You might need some extra fettling to make the pieces fit properly but in my opinion, in many cases they fit better than many injection moulded kits do!   Be careful though, superglue can be quite difficult to remove from your fingers and other parts of the anatomy!   :banghead:

First remove the pieces from their moulding blocks - I tend to use a razor saw for that.  Then sand them down, to remove any blobs/projections/etc.  Then stick them together.   :thumbsup: