Israeli Westland Lysander, Suez Crisis ***FINISHED***

Started by TheChronicOne, December 29, 2019, 03:41:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheChronicOne

OK...  I am not good at backstories, but I try.

SO.... the story on this one is that the Israelis captured a slighty damaged Lysander from the Egyptians in the "War of Independence" in the late 40s. It sat for a few years sort of as a war trophy but the bored mechanics at the (mumble mumble) aerodrome in (mumblemumble) decided to seek out new parts and fabricate others to get a flying aircraft again. Eventually it was fixed up and used for training and liason and eventually used as a forward observation aircraft in the Suez Crisis of 1956.

I plan to attempt to incorporate a little bit of the Egyptian paint scheme somehow, as if this where painted a bit in haste for the Suez kerfluffle or perhaps they were under constraints concerning paint or something but the top and sides will be the two color brown and blue stuff with bumble bee stripes and 6 pointed stars. I'd like, instead of the grey the IAF used, to keep the bottom and undersides whatever color the Egyptians had.

This kit came with very warped wings and props and missing 1/4 of the tailplanes. I've used a spare prop that went to a Spitfire (upon comparison, they are virtually identical!). Rick has donated some spare wings. And I took spare tail planes from an XP-55 kit where they are unusued. I'll have to cut them down some, but they'll work great! 

The kit is pretty neat... comes with some lil Jew-Dudes. I especially like the guy with the briefcase!  :lol: :mellow:

In fact, I've already started on this... I just waited to get everything sorted out before I made a separate thread for it. I now have all I need aside from a name....   :unsure: