Site Activity And Changing Times...

Started by AeroplaneDriver, April 05, 2023, 09:15:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AeroplaneDriver

I will start this by saying I discovered this site damn near 20 years ago and with a few gaps have been active on it ever since.  But as a 20-year veteran I remember the days when we had many more active members.  The current 2023-24 GB poll is a perfect example of our activity level.  34 members have voted.  We have 2,444 members.  That 34 number is typical of GB votes and we all know that we have about 40-50 active members at best.  I am a member of several modeling Facebook pages, one of which is VERY active with hundreds of members posting regularly.  Our hobby is not dead, but it feels like our site might need some...for lack of a better term...some OOMPH...

Have we looked at doing a Facebook page for the site?  One specifically linked to the site that might bring more activity?  I am fairly active on Facebook and would be happy to be the Admin for such a page if we had one.  Several of the other modeling sites have Facebook pages these days and they seem to be more active than the actual websites. 

At the risk of stirring the pot and introducing new ideas I would like to see how the membership feels about this.  Either way I'll be here, but I just feel like if we had a social media page promoting out activities we could get more participation than we currently see. 

Standing by for a bun fight...

So I got that going for me...which is nice....

kitbasher

Hmm, interesting.

So what is it you seek?  More active participation by the currently inactive/silent majority of forum members?  New members who may be more active?